A.I.I. News
04.30.2014 - [Softball]
Twenty-one players earned A.i.i All-Conference first team recognition on Wednesday.
Twenty-one players earned A.i.i All-Conference first team recognition on Wednesday.

Georgia Gwinnett's Cassidy Littlefield and LSU-Alexandria's Brooke Thomas were named the Association of Independent Institutions Conference Co-Players of the Year on Wednesday during the A.I.I. Conference Softball Championship banquet.


Littlefield and Thomas were among 39 student-athletes honored with all-conference awards at the banquet.


Along with Littlefield and Thomas, California State-San Marcos' Katie Wilkerson was named the A.I.I. Pitcher of the Year, Fisher College's Kristina Brown and the University of Houston-Victoria's Shelby Smith were Co-Freshmen of the Year and Littlefield was the unanimous Newcomer of the Year.


LSUA's Charlie Zeilman was selected as Coach of the Year.


Joining Wilkinson as first team all-conference pitchers were Georgia Gwinnett's Kayla Byron, UHV's Savannah Crittenden and LSUA's Logan Hebert, while the first-team catchers included Brown, Raquel Granados of LSUA and Tani Leasau of CSUSM.


The first-team infield included Littlefield, Smith, Lindewood-Belleville's Kaylin Stewart, LSUA's Kaylee Prather and UHV's Ashley Winegeart and Marley Moehrig.


The first-team outfield includes Thomas, along with UHV's Rachel Laird, CSUSM's Kaitlyn McGinley and Alex Miller, LSUA's Julinn Torres and Georgia Gwinnett's Halley Ingram.


Named the first-team designated player is Jamie Navarro of Lindenwood-Belleville, while her teammate Taylor Winn earned recognition as the first-team utility player.


2014 A.I.I. All-Conference Softball Team


Coach of the Year: Charlie Zeilman, Louisiana State University-Alexandria

Co-Players of the Year: Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett College and Brooke Thomas, LSU-Alexandria

Pitcher of the Year: Katie Wilkinson, California State University-San Marcos

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Kristina Brown, Fisher College and Shelby Smith, University of Houston-Victoria

Newcomer of the Year: Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett (unanimous)



  Pitchers: Kayla Byrom, Georgia Gwinnett; Savannah Crittenden, University of Houston-Victoria; Logan Hebert, Louisiana State University-Alexandria; Katie Wilkinson, California States-San Marcos.

 Catchers: Kristina Brown, Fisher College; Raquel Granados, LSUA; Tani Leasau, CSUSM.

 Infielders: Cassidy Littlefield, GGC; Marley Moehrig, UHV; Kaylee Prather, LSUA; Shelby Smith, UHV; Kaylin Stewart, Lindenwood University-Belleville; Ashley Winegeart, UHV.

  Outfielders: Halley Ingram, GGC; Rachel Laird, UHV: Kaitlin McGinley, CSUSM; Alex Miller, CSUSM; Brooke Thomas, LSUA; Julinn Torres, LSUA.

  Designated Player: Jamie Navarro, Lindenwood.

  Utility Player: Taylor Winn, Lindenwood.


  Pitchers: Ashley Beyke, GGC; Ashley Dagenais, CSUSM; Michele Pilster, Lindenwood; Nicole Schmidt, Ashford University.

  Catchers: Kristina Droz, UHV; Shelby Hobelman, Ashford.

  Infielders: Melyssa Bellamy, CSUSM; Mallory Campbell, CSUSM; Kalyn Ohlemeyer, Ashford; Morgan Selmi, Fisher; Taylor Simon, LSUA.

  Outfielders: Christine Briggs, Fisher; Payton Geeting, Ashford; Nicolle Miskowicz, Lindenwood; Carlyn Shimizu, University of British Columbia,

  Designated Player: Heather Bunn, LSUA; Alex Holland, UHV.

  Utility Player: Alana Westerhof, UBC.