A.I.I. News
05.01.2014 - [Baseball]
Fisher's Davidson Pequero
Fisher's Davidson Pequero

Fisher College's Davidson Peguero has been named the Association of Independent Institutions Conference Baseball Player of the Year for 2014, while University of Houston-Victoria's Andre Del Bosque has been selected the Pitcher of the Year.


Peguero and Del Bosque were among the 41 student-athletes honored Thursday night with all-conference awards during the A.I.I. Baseball Championships banquet.


Along with Peguero and Del Bosque, Georgia Gwinnet College's Jake Fields was named the Newcomer of the Year, while West Virginia University Tech's DJ Burgess and Ashford University's Tyler Davis were named Co-Freshmen of the Year.


Brad Stromdahl of Georgia Gwinnett was named the A.I.I. Conference Coach of the Year for baseball.


Del Bosque was also named to the first team as a reliever, while earning first-team honors as starters were LSU-Alexandria's Kirk Savoy, Georgia Gwinnett's Tyler Carpenter and California State University San Marcos' Kyle Montiel.


Earning first-team recognition on the infield were Sloan Strickland of Georgia Gwinnett at first base, Terrence Buchanan of CSUSM at second base, Zach Alvord of Georgia Gwinnett at shortstop and Dylan Skinner of Lindenwood-Belleville at third base. Rich Montanez of CSUSM was named the first-team catcher.


Selected to the outfield along with Peguero were Phillip Bates and Fields of Georgia Gwinnett and Keagan Kratzer of LSUA. West Virginia Tech's Zach Sizemore was named the first-team designated hitter.


2014 A.I.I. All-Conference Baseball Team


Coach of the Year: Brad Stromdahl, Georgia Gwinnett College

Player of the Year: Davidson Peguero, Fisher College

Pitcher of the Year: Andre Del Bosque, University of Houston-Victoria

Newcomer of the Year: Jake Fields, Georgia Gwinnett College

Co-Freshmen of the Year: DJ Burgess, West Virginia University Tech and Tyler Davis, Ashford University.


  Starting Pitchers: Kirk Savoy, Louisiana State University-Alexandria; Tyler Carpenter, GGC; Kyle Montiel, California State University-San Marcos; Alex Roberts, GGC.

  Relief Pitchers: Andre Del Bosque, UHV.

  First Baseman: Sloan Strickland, GGC.

  Second Baseman: Terrence Buchanan, CSUSM.

  Shortstop: Zach Alvord, GGC.

  Third Baseman: Dylan Skinner, Lindewood University-Belleville.

  Extra Infielder: Ryan Suescun, UHV

  Catcher: Rich Montanez, CSUSM; Tyler Davis,, Ashford

  Outfielders: Davidson Peguero, Fisher; Phillip Bates, GGC; Jake Fields, GGC; Keagan Kratzer, LSUA.

  Designated Hitter: Zach Sizemore, West Virginia University Tech.


  Starting Pitchers: Joe Phelps, Lindenwood; Victor Martinez, Fisher; John Tangerlini, Fisher; Josh Semtana, West Virginia Tech.

  Relief Pitcher: Zeke McGranahan, GGC.

  First Baseman: Brandon Bentson, CSUSM.

  Second Baseman: Victor Lebron, Fisher

  Shortstop: Tyler Bernard, CSUSM

   Extra Infielder: Michael Collado, LSUA

  Catcher: DJ Burgess, WVT; Drew Fair, Lindenwood

  Outfielders: Kevin Moore, Rochester College; Dylan Edmiston, LSUA; Vince Anello, Lindenwood; Ty Abbott, GGC.

  Designated Hitter: Blake German, Rochester.


  Cory Carter, UHV; Scott Kunert, Rochester; Justin Hertzman, CSUSM; Ian Hamilton, Ashford; T.J. Trantham, LSUA; Kyle Forsythe, Lindenwood; Sean Keeney, Lindenwood; Tanner Courtney, Ashford.