A.I.I. News
02.28.2012 - [Men's Basketball - D2]
Travis Burley
Travis Burley

MADISON, S.D. - Travis Burley of Jamestown (N.D.) was selected Association of Independent Institutions Division II Men's Basketball player of the year, announced Tuesday. Gary Garner of Dakota State University earns the Coach of the Year after capturing their first-ever A.I.I. conference championships.

Burley, a 6'5" forward from Warrenton, Ga. averaged 15.5 points and 7.8 rebounds per game for the Jimmies.

Garner led his Trojan men's basketball team to their first-ever A.I.I. conference tournament championships. The Trojans also earned an automatic bid to the NAIA Division II Men's Basketball National Tournament for the first time in 20 years.

Below is the list of All-Conference teams:


2011 A.I.I. Div. II All-Conference Basketball Team


Travis Burley, Warrenton, Ga., Jamestown College (N.D.)

Sekani Milligen, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Valley City State (N.D.)

Gus Kueber, Aneta, N.D., Mayville State (N.D.)

Casper Hesseldal, Arahus, Denmark, Dickinson State (N.D.)

Kenny Penn, La Sierra (Calif.)


Byron Jones, Glenarden, Md., Jamestown (N.D.)

Spencer Adams, Champaign, Ill., Dakota State (S.D.).

Jesse Bean, Palmer, Alaska, Dakota State (S.D.)

Mark Moore, Canton, Ohio, Walla Walla (Wash.)

Jake Campbell, Aurora, Colo., Johnson and Wales (Colo.)


Albert Suniga, Arizona Christian

Tevin Hurd, Dickinson State (N.D.).

Matt Lee, Dickinson State (N.D.)

Darryll Dixon, Marygrove (Mich.)

Eric Shulstad, Mayville State (N.D.)

John Raquel, Valley City State (N.D.)

Aaron Duske, Valley city State (N.D.)